Breezewood Hosts Myers-Bennett Memorial

On a recent Saturday that turned out to be perfect weather for the occasion, the 20th annual Myers-Bennett Memorial Golf Tournament was held.

Thirty-six teams of four played in the shotgun scramble format tournament at Breezewood Links. Participants commented on how good the course was, especially with the weather conditions this summer. The Beightol family has provided the venue for the tournament for several years now.

After the round of golf, a chicken barbecue provided by the Ellington Fire Department was served.

The tournament is held to honor the memory of Chief George Myers and Chief Bill Bennett of the Kennedy Fire Department, who each died while serving as chief of the department. Both men loved golf, and both were dedicated to fire safety and prevention education for children. Money raised by the tournament goes to support the Kennedy Fire Department and those efforts. Sue Bennett thanked all those who participated, and all those who helped make everything possible. She especially gave credit to Jon Payne, who heads the organization of the tournament every year and brings all the sponsors and players together for such a fun day and a worthy cause.

Many prizes were awarded. Ladies closest to the pin on No. 7 was Alison Johnson. Ladies closest to the pin on No. 10 was Jenn Swanson. Men’s closest to the pin on No. 3 was Larry Larson. Men’s closest to the pin on No. 17 was Jim Swanson. Ladies longest drive on No. 9 was Allison Johnson. Ladies longest drive on No. 15 was Dee Dee DuBois. Men’s longest drive on No. 2 was Rick Shattuck. Men’s longest drive on No. 16 was Dylan Bennett.

With a scratch round of 60, the winning team was comprised of Larry Mee, Alan Mee, Taylor Beaver and Blake Morrison. Second place with a score of 61 was the team of Chris Swanson, Mike Eggleston, Larry Larson and Matt Brooks.

The handicap division had three teams tie with a score of 71. Placement was determined by matching cards. First place went to Keith Beckerink, Mary Beckerink, Trey Hawkins and Michelle Hawkins. The second-place team members were Diana Dustin, Dave Cheney, Evan Walker and Andy Costantino.