Short Captures Bob Vogt Memorial At Eriez Speedway

By Jay Pees

HAMMETT, Pa. – On the 11th anniversary of Bob Vogt’s last feature win, just five months before his passing, he was remembered with the annual Bob Vogt Memorial for the Conway & O’Malley Limited Late Models at Eriez Speedway on Sunday night.

Vogt, winner of 176 feature races over his career and several Limited Late Model championships, was one of the most popular Limited Late model drivers to ever race at Eriez. Points leader Nathan Short took over at the front on lap 11 and went on to the win, his third of the season.

Jeremy Williams led every lap of the Street Stock finale en route to his first Eriez win of 2014.

Max Blair led every lap of the Super Late Model feature for his second win of the season in the top division, then got in his Crate Late Model, started sixth, took over the lead at 14 laps and went on to his fourth win in that class.

Gary Eicher started on the pole in the E-Mod feature and dominated the event, his first of the season at Eriez.

Opening-night winner Joe Beach took the night capper for the Challengers, taking over from Matt Marcy after Marcy experienced problems at lap three. It was Beach’s second win of the season.

The Waterford Hotel Street Stocks ran their 15-lap feature first with Mark Thompson’s pristine 1957 Chevy on the pole, but Williams, starting from the outside, lead lap one. Williams caught the tail of the field at lap five and had a quarter-lap lead on Thompson by lap eight, halfway through the event.

Shaun Fawcett got to second at lap nine and Brandon Groters, winner of four feature races in 2014, was third at lap 11. Before the checkers flew, Chris Withers got by Thompson for fourth. The final rundown was Williams, Fawcett, Groters, Withers, and Thompson.

The 25-lap Bob Vogt Memorial started with the previous week’s winner, Chris Ottaway, and Ryan Scott on the front row. Scott, the defending champion, grabbed the lead at the drop of the green with Nate Short, the current points leader second and Ottaway fell back to third at the end of lap one. At 10 laps complete, Short and Scott were side by side at the line with Short taking over the front spot a lap later.

Short went on to the win over Scott, Chris McGuire, Dustin Eckman, and Dan Maxim.

Max Blair and Darrell Bossard brought the Jay’s Auto Wrecking Super Late Models to the green with Blair immediately charging into the lead. At the end of two laps Bump Hedman was second with Mike Knight third after one more circuit. Nine laps into the event, Knight and Hedman were even at the stripe with Knight completing the pass at 10. Defending champion and current points leader Rob Blair came to fourth at 15 laps complete and then to third a lap later.

At the checkers it was Max Blair by half a straight over 2012 champion Knight with defending champion Rob Blair third, five-time champion Rich Gardner fourth, and former champion Dave Hess fifth.

Matt Latta and Bruce Hordusky started from the front row of the Bonnell Collision Center FASTRAK Late Models feature with Latta leading lap one. Defending champion Chad Wright was second by the end of two, but Latta was opening his lead. Then on the back straight in lap four, Wright suddenly lost power causing pandemonium in the pack behind him. Under the caution Latta stalled and could not restart, leaving Hordusky the leader for the restart. Michael Mitchell and Mike Knight lined up behind him for the restart.

Max Blair came to third at lap five from his six starting berth. Caution flew for a four-car pile-up in turn four at lap eight. Blair was up to second one lap after green was again shown and all over the leader for the next four laps before pulling ahead on the back stretch at lap 14. At lap 18, Mitchell got by Hordusky for second. Former champion Kyle Zimmerman came to fourth with two to go with Knight fifth.

Gary Eicher led the Plyler Overhead Door E-Mods feature right from the start from the pole position with Steve Simon falling behind second-row starters Dave Hess and Butch Southwell by the end of lap one. Eicher lengthened his lead over the remainder of the event. Greg Johnson came to second after a restart just past halfway with Southwell holding on for third, points leader Joel Watson fourth and Hess fifth at the checkers.

Joe Beach and points leader Jason Brightman started the Kandy’s Gentleman’s Club Challengers feature up front, but it was Matt Marcy leading at the end of one lap then losing a wheel, eliminating him from his fifth win of the season. Beach then came to the lead with Brightman and Andy Proper fighting over the runner-up position. Ryan White came to second at lap eight. At the checkers it was Beach, White, Proper, Hunter Hully and Brightman.

Super Late Models

Heat 1: Max Blair, Bump Hedman, Dave Hess, Steve Kania, Bob Dorman, Andy Boozel, Scott Gurdak, Brian Fardink

Heat 2: Darrell Bossard, Rich Gardner, Mike Knight, Chris Hackett, Robbie Blair, Jake Finnerty, Jordan Eck

Feature: Max Blair, Mike Knight, Rob Blair, Rich Gardner, Dave Hess, Darrell Bossard, Bump Hedman, Bob Dorman, Steve Kania, Chris Hackett, Andy Boozel, Jordan Eck, Jake Finnerty, Brian Fardink, Scott Gurdak

Crate Late Models

Heat 1: Matt Latta, Bobby Rohrer, Mike Knight, Joe Long, Khole Wanzer, Jim Hilyer, Chris Nicholson (DNS)

Heat 2: Bruce Hordusky, Michael Mitchell, Scott Gurdak, Kyle Zimmerman, Andy Michael, Mike Lozowski, Eric Andrus (DNS)

Heat 3: Chad Wright, Max Blair, Darrell Bossard, Mark Tatalovic, Breyton Santee, Wendell Pinckney

Feature: Max Blair, Michael Mitchell, Bruce Hordusky, Kyle Zimmerman, Mike Knight, Darrell Bossard, Scott Gurdak, Mark Tatalovic, Bobby Rohrer, Joe Long, Andy Michael, Breyton Santee, Eric Andrus, Mike Lozowski, Jim Hilyer, Khole Wanzer, Wendell Pinckney, Matt Latta, Chad Wright, Chris Nicholson


Heat 1: Rich Michael, Joel Watson, Butch Southwell, Mike Kinney, Shane Crotty, John Boardman, Mike Bambarger, Cubby Haupt

Heat 2: Eric Reinwald, Mike Smith, Steve Simon, John Boyd, Rob Middleton, Steve Sornberger, Mike McGee

Heat 3: Greg Johnson, Dave Hess, Gary Eicher, Chad Carlson, Kurt Thorpe, Troy Carr, Casey Bowers

Feature: Gary Eicher, Greg Johnson, Butch Southwell, Joel Watson, Dave Hess, Shane Crotty, Mike Smith, Mike Kinney, Chad Carlson, Mike McGee, Steve Simon, John Boyd, Troy Carr, Mike Bambarger, Steve Sornberger, Rob Middleton, Eric Reinwald, Rich Michael, Kurt Thorpe, Casey Bowers, Cubby Haupt, John Boardman

Limited Late Models

Heat 1: Chris Ottaway, Ryan Scott, Nathan Short, Dan Maxim, Dustin Eckman, Chris McGuire, Tyler Green, Mike Moon, Rodney Thoms, Pat McGuire

Feature: Nate Short, Ryan Scott, Chris McGuire, Dustin Eckman, Dan Maxim, Pat McGuire, Chris Ottaway, Tyler Green, Mike. Moon, Rodney Thoms, Matt Tuzynski

Street Stocks

Heat 1: Chris Withers, Shaun Fawcett, Jeremy Williams, Bob Schwartzmiller, Jimmy Kennerknecht, Don McGuire, Tyler Lyngarkos

Heat 2: Gary Fisher, Kenny Lamp, Mark Thompson, Brandon Groters, Walt Johnson, Wesley McCray

Feature: Jeremy Williams, Shaun Fawcett, Brandon Groters, Chris Withers, Mark Thompson, Kenny Lamp, Jimmy Kennerknecht, Don McGuire, Gary Fisher, Bob Schwartzmiller, Wesley McCray, Walt Johnson, Tyler Lyngarkos


Heat 1: Ken Luma, Jason Brightman, Ryan White, Hunter Hulley, Jimmy Nicholson, Chris Lyons, Bo Walters, Thomas Cupp, Leo Hanlon

Heat 2: Matt Marcy, Joe Beach, Andy Proper, Tim Fisher, Todd Hanlon, Wes Stull, Kelsey Parker, Katie Perry

Feature: Joe Beach, Ryan White, Andy Proper, Hunter Hulley, Jason Brightman, Ken Luma, Wes Stull, Thomas Cupp, Kelsey Parker, Bo Walters, Chris Lyons, Katie Perry, Jimmy Nicholson, Leo Hanlon, Tim Fisher, Matt Marcy, Todd Hanlon