Hooks Wins Penn-Ohio Street Stock Special at Eriez Speedway

By Jay Pees

HAMMETT, Pa. – The Penn-Ohio Street Stock Series made its first-ever visit to Erie Speedway with 30 cars signing into the pit on Sunday.

Four heats and a consolation event set the Waterford Hotel Street Stocks starting lineup with heat winners Mark Peck, Chris Withers, Shaun Hook, and Mark Thompson in the first four slots. Shaun Hooks took the lead at a restart on lap three, then went on to his first win in the series and at Eriez Speedway.

In regular action Max Blair led from the outside front row at the start, but then had to fend off Robbie Blair in the closing laps to get his first-ever Super Late Model win at Eriez Speedway.

Defending champion Chad Wright returned to the winner’s circle in the Crate Late Mol feature.

Joel Watson charged to his fourth victory of the 5-week-old season in E-Mod competition while former champion Chris Ottaway returned to Victory Lane in Limited Late Model racing.

Carl Marcy led the Challenger division feature to the checkered flag for the second week in a row.

Super Late Models

Heat 1: Chub Frank, Mike Knight, Dave Hess, Chris Hackett, Bump Hedman, Steve Kania, Ryan Scott

Heat 2: Max Blair, Rob Blair, Greg Oakes, Matt Urban, Jordan Eck, Chuck Parker, Chris Peterson

Heat 3: Andy Boozel, John Volpe, Matt Urban, Darrell Bossard, Scott Gurdak, Bob Dorman

Burger King of the Hill: Rob Blair, Chris Hackett

Feature: Max Blair, Rob Blair, Mike Knight, Greg Oakes, Matt Urban, John Volpe, Dave Hess, Chris Hackett, Scott Gurdak, Rich Gardner, Darrell Bossard, Bob Dorman, Andy Boozel, Bump Hedman, Ryan Scott, Steve Kania, Jordan Eck, Chub Frank, Chuck Parker, Chris Peterson

FASTRAK Crate Late Models

Heat 1: Kyle Zimmerman, Mike Lozowski, Wendell Pinckney, Bobby Rohrer, Mike Knight, Max Blair, Khole Wanzer, Mark Tatalovic, Dave Lyon

Heat 2: Matt Latta, Chad Wright, Jason Genco, Darrell Bossard, Scott Gurdak, Bruce Hordusky, Wyatt Scott, Lauren Longbrake, Breyton Santee

Feature: Chad Wright, Kyle Zimmerman, Matt Latta, Jason Genco, Mike Knight, Scott Gurdak, Bobby Rohrer, Wendell Pinckney, Darrell Bossard, Dave Lyon, Matt Tatalovic, Khole Wanzer, Mike Lozowski, Bruce Hordusky, Lauren Longbrake, Breyton Santee, Max Blair (DNS)


Heat 1: Butch Southwell, Greg Johnson, Rich Michael, Dave Hess, Joel Watson, Chad Carlson, John Schenker, Steve Sornberger

Heat 2: Gary Eicher, John Boyd, John Boardman, Dan Sasso, Steve Simon, Mike Bambarger, Rob Middleton, Eric Reinwald

Feature: Joel Watson, Dave Hess, John Boyd, Greg Johnson, Chad Carlson, Steve Simon, Gary Eicher, Dan Sasso, Eric Reinwald, Mike Bambarger, Rob Middleton, Butch Southwell, Rich Michael, John Boardman, Steve Sornberger, John Schenker (DNS)

Limited Late Models

Heat 1: Chris McGuire, Dustin Eckman, Pat McGuire, Kelly Frederes, John Cline Jr, Rodney Thoms

Heat 2: Ryan Scott, Nate Short, Chris Ottaway, Mark Frontera, John Cline Sr, Matt Tuzynski

Feature: Chris Ottaway, Ryan Scott, Nate Short, Kelly Frederes, Chris McGuire, Pat McGuire, John Cline Sr, John Cline Jr, Mark Frontera, Dustin Eckman, Matt Tuzynski, Rodney Thoms

Street Stocks Penn-Ohio Tour

Heat 1: Mark Thompson, Rusty Martz, Colton Gearhart, Chris Schneider, Ron Johnson, Gary Fisher, Tim Burns, Tyler Lyngarkos

Heat 2: Shaun Hooks, Jeff Broniszewski, Randy Wyant, Jessee Brock, Guy Adams, Gary Miller, Kenny Lamp, Wesley McCray (DNS)

Heat 3: Chris Withers, Shane Applebee, Rod Lasky, Don McGuire, Bob Schwartzmiller, Eric Paulus, Travis Norman

Heat 4: Mark Peck, Curtis Bish, Shaun Faucett, Carl Marcy, Bobby Heim, Matt Lozowski, Elaine Best

B-Main: Eric Paulus, Tom Burns, Kenny Lamp, Matt Lozowski, Travis Norman, Elaine Best, Wesley McCray, Tyler Lyngarkos, Gary Fisher (DNS), Gary Miller (DNS)

Feature: Shaun Hooks, Rusty Martz, Don McGuire, Rod Lasky, Shane Applebee, Curtis Bish, Matt Lozowski, Chris Withers, Jeff Broniszewski, Bob Schwartzmiller, Tim Burns, Mark Thompson, Chris Schneider, Jessee Brock, Carl Marcy, Bobby Heim, Colton Gearhart, Ron Johnson, Kenny Lamp, Mark Peck, Randy Wyant, Shaun Fawcett, Guy Adams, Eric Paulus


Heat 1: Matt Marcy, Jason Brightman, Roger Hall, Justin Boardman, Stephen Enlow, Ken Luma, Wes Stull, Tim Fisher, Jimmy Nicholson, Jean Fowler, Aaron Marcy, Brandon Trautman

Heat 2: Travis Darling, Steve Morse, Andy Proper, Ryan White, Tom Cupp, Drew Panko, Kelsey Parker, Kayla Beach, Chris Panko, Jonathan Pratt, Skip Jackson, Katie Perry, Gary Olson

Feature: Matt Marcy, Jason Brightman, Travis Darling, Ryan White, Kayla Beach, Kelsey Parker, Ken Luma, Chris Panko, Skip Jackson, Jimmy Nicholson, Tim Fisher, Steve Morse, Drew Panko, Wes Stull, Tom Cupp, Joe Beach, Justin Boardman, Jonathan Pratt, Andy Proper, Gary Olson, Aaron Marcy, Stephen Enlow (DNS), Brandon Trautman (DNS)