Boys & Girls Club After School, General Awards Announced

The Winifred Crawford Dibert Boys & Girls Club of Jamestown recently held their award ceremonies for the after school program and general club awards.

During the award ceremony for the after school program, all after school members were recognized for their participation and excellence in the after school programs including swimming, gym, game room, art room, computer room and Striders homework.

The After School Boy of the Year is Gabe Retterer and the Girl of the Year is Ayrianna Brady. Receiving the Dedicated Homework award is Paolo DeJesus. Melissa Tubbs received the 110% Extra Effort Award and Betty Tubbs is the After School Artist of the Year.

During the general Club ceremony awards were presented for Youth of the Month, swimmers, program areas, leadership groups (Torch Club & Keystone), prevention programming (S.M.A.R.T. Girls, S.M.A.R.T. Leaders and Diplomas to Degrees), attendance and the annual chess tournament.

The following awards were presented:

The Wayne Griffin Youth of the Year – Marcus Beatty

The Carl M. Cappa Boy of the Year – Dylan Pratt

The Winifred Crawford Dibert Memorial Girl of the Year – Jessica Echevarria

The Youth Serving Youth Award – Betty Tubbs

The Family of the Year Ron, Lisa, Amber, Angie and Betty Tubbs

Teen Volunteer of the Year – Deion Raner

Thomas Bartolo Youth Swim Award – Aaron Mecham and Boaz Mecham

Junior Optimist Awards – Caylee Peterson and Alyssa Ryan

Top Youth Athlete Awards – Jack Carlson, Julian McGaughy, Morgan Maloney, Rickey Dean and Dylan Anthony

Michaels provided books for all award winners from a collection they held at their store in Lakewood.

All programs at the WCD Boys & Girls Club of Jamestown are supported by the United Way of Southern Chautauqua County. For more information about the Club and upcoming summer programming including summer day camp, contact the club at 664-2902 or visit