Blair, Blair, Michael, Frederes, Withers, Enjoy Eriez Wins

By Jay Pees

HAMMETT, Pa. – One of the most pleasant opening nights in memory greeted fans as they arrived at Eriez Speedway after an exceptionally brutal winter.

The 2013 Jay’s Auto Wrecking Super Late Models champion, Rob Blair, took the lead with three laps remaining when race-long leader Mike Knight, himself a former champion, spun out of the lead. Blair had started the event from the eighth position on the grid.

Max Blair, Rob’s son, who had started to the inside of his father, came to second at the finish.

The younger Blair also won the Bonnell Collision Center FASTRAK Late Models feature, leading every lap after starting from the pole position. The 2013 champion, Rich Michael Jr., started sixth, but was the leader by the time 12 laps were completed, going on to the win.

Kelly Frederes, who returned to the Conway & O’Malley Limited Late Models after an absence, started outside front row and then proceeded to lead every lap of the feature.

Former champion Chris Withers won his heat and then started the Waterford Hotel Street Stocks feature from outside the front row and also led every lap on his way to his first win of the season.

Joe Beach, points runner-up in 2013, took the lead on lap two of the Kandy’s Gentleman’s Club Challengers feature, going on to his first win of the season.

Super Late Models

Heat 1: Boom Briggs, Mike Knight, Dave Hess Jr, Max Blair, Rich Gardner, Greg Oakes, Ryan Scott, Michael Oakes

Heat 2: Chris Hackett, Scott Gurdak, Doug Eck, Rob Blair, Bob Dorman, Darrell Bossard, Steve Kania, Andy Boozel

Feature: Rob. Blair, Max Blair, Darrell Bossard, Chris Hackett, Boom Briggs, Dave Hess Jr, Greg Oakes, Doug Eck, Ryan Scott, Rich Gardner, Kevin Kania, Mike Knight, Scott Gurdak, Bob Dorman, Michael Oakes, Andy Boozel

FASTRAK Late Models

Heat 1: Chad Wright, Mike Knight, Dennis Lunger, Darrell Bossard, Kyle Zimmerman, Khole Wanzer, Wyatt Scott, Michael Mitchell

Heat 2: Max Blair, Bobby Rohrer, Wendell Pinckney, Matt Latta, Mark Tatalovic, Bruce Hordusky, Mike Lozowski, Chad Schauers

Feature: Max Blair, Chad Wright, Mike Knight, Dennis Lunger, Kyle Zimmerman, Darrell Bossard, Bruce Hordusky, Bobby Rohrer, Matt Latta, Khole Wanzer, Mark Tatalovic, Wendell Pinckney, Wyatt Scott, Mike Lozowski, Chad Schauers, Michael Mitchell


Heat 1: Rich Michael Jr, Shane Crotty, Mike McGee, Mike Kinney, Rob Middleton, Gary Eicher, Steve Sornberger Jr, Dan Davies, Shawn Shingledecker

Heat 2: Joel Watson, Dave Hess Jr, John Boyd, John Boardman. Mike Smith, Steve Simon, Chad Carlson, Eric Reinwald

Feature: Rich Michael Jr, Joel Watson, John Boyd, Dave Hess Jr, Dan Davies, Shane Crotty, Mike Smith, Mike Kinney, Gary Eicher, John Boardman, Eric Reinwald, Steve Simon, Rob Middleton, Mike McGee, Steve Sornberger Jr, Chad Carlson, Shawn Shingledecker

Limited Late Models

Heat 1: Dan Maxim, Ryan Scott, Chris Ottaway, Chris McGuire, Kelly Frederes, Mark Frontera, John Cline Sr, John Cline Jr

Feature: Kelly Frederes, Dan Maxim, Ryan Scott, Chris Ottaway, Chris McGuire, Nate Short, Mark Frontera, John Cline Sr, John Cline Jr

Street Stocks

Heat 1: John Phelps, Rob Bates, Ron Boardman, Bryan Johnson, Tyler Lyngarkos, Bill Reeves, Geoff Maloney, Guy Adams

Heat 2: Chris Withers, Don McGuire, Shawn Fawcett, Jimmy Kennerknecht, Mark Thompson, Elaine Best, Ron Johnson

Heat 3: Brandon Groters, Carl Marcy, Jeremy Williams, Pat Fielding, Eric Paulus, Matt Lozowski, Ken Lamp Jr

Feature: Chris Withers, Brandon Groters, Jeremy Williams, Pat Fielding, Ron Boardman, Mark Thompson, Eric Paulus, Ken Lamp Jr, Bill Reeves, Elaine Best, Wade Watson, Matt Lozowski, Guy Adams, Rob Bates, Tyler Lyngarkos, Shawn Fawcett, Jimmy Kennerkknecht, Carl Marcy, John Phelps, Bryan Johnson, Ron Johnson, Geoff Maloney Don McGuire


Heat 1: Andy Proper, Travis Darling, Tim Fisher, Gary Olson, Justin Boardman, Jessee Phelps, Tim Brightman, Eddie Orton, Wes Stull, Kelsey Parker

Heat 2: Joe Beach, Matt Marcy, Tom. Cupp, Stephen Enlow, Jason Brightman, Drew Panko, Steve Morse, Kevin Covell, Ryan White, Dennis Wisniewski

Feature: Joe Beach, Tom Cupp, Matt Marcy, Stephen Enlow, Jason Brightman, Andy Proper, Gary Olson, Justin Boardman, Tim Fisher, Drew Panko, Jessee Phelps, Steve Morse, Travis darling, Wesley Stull, Tim Brightman, Eddie Horton, Kevin Covell, Ryan White, Kelsey Parker (DNS), Dennis Wieniewski (DNS)