JCC Professor’s Original Composition Makes Debut In Montana

“Five Songs of the Psalms,” an original composition by Neil Flory, assistant professor and coordinator of music at Jamestown Community College, premiered at the 27th Pacific Northwest Regional Conference of the College Music Society in early April at the University of Montana, in Missoula, Mont.

“Five Songs of the Psalms” is a set of five art songs for mezzo-soprano and oboe/English horn, based on selected portions of the Psalms from the King James Bible.

The work was composed in fall 2013 for vocalist Kimberly Gratland James and oboist Jennifer Gookin Cavanaugh, who performed it at the conference. Both are faculty members in the School of Music at the University of Montana.

Flory is a member of the Society of Composers Inc., Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States, College Music Society, and the American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers.

An active composer and poet, Dr. Flory has composed works that have been performed across the U.S. as well as in Europe, South America, Asia, Mexico, and Canada. Dr. Flory has created over 80 acoustic and electro-acoustic compositions and his work is published currently by Jomar Press, Cimarron Music Press, and Tuba-Euphonium Press.

His poetry has appeared in journals such as Alternative Press Magazine and Mind Matters Review, and several of his poems have been set to music.