17 Golfers Invited To Play In P-J Champions

Jim Riggs

Invitations have been sent to defending champion Josh Harrington and 16 club champions for the 25th annual Post-Journal Champions golf tournament that will be held on the Lake Course at Chautauqua Golf Club on May 18.

The tournament is for men’s scratch club champions from regulation 18- and 9-hole courses in the newspaper’s circulation area.

A playoff was required last year as Harrington, the 2012 club champ from Chautauqua, defeated Dave Newton on the first hole of a playoff at Cardinals Hills Golf Course. They had shot 2-under-par 70s to tie for first place.

Harrington is invited back as the defending champion.

The 2013 club champ from Chautauqua is Shelly Grant.

Other club champions who have been invited are:

Tim Hall, Bemus Point Golf Club

Nate Sandberg, Blueberry Hill Golf Club

Tim Shattuck, Breezewood Links

Ryan Lemon, Cable Hollow Golf Course

Brennan Morrison, Cardinal Hills Golf Course

Brenton Wilcox, Cassadaga Country Club

Greg Gollnitz, Chautauqua Point Golf Course

Joe Nelson, Conewango Valley Country Club

Dan Smith, Elkdale Country Club

Rob Ritchie, Jackson Valley Golf Club

Scott Berry, Maplehurst Country Club

Alex Bianco, Moon Brook Country Club

Nolan Swanson, Pinehurst Golf Course

Kevin Kaszuba, Shorewood County Club

Greg Winter, South Hills Country Club

This is the third time The -J Champions has been held at Chautauqua. The first time was in 1991 when it was a 27-hole layout. The tournament was played on the Red and Blue Courses and the winner was the late Roger Loop.

The P-J Champions returned to Chautauqua in 2005 and was held on the Hill Course. The winner was P.J. Gronquist.

The 2014 P-J Champions will begin at 10 a.m. If there a playoff, it will start at No. 1.

The players’ greens fees will be compliments of Chautauqua and they will receive a light meal after nine holes, compliments of Andriaccio’s The Double Eagle. They will also received a sleeve of golf balls from The Post-Journal, which will present silver bowls to the champion and runner-up.