Remaining All-WNY Honorees Announced

By Scott Kindberg

BUFFALO – A number of high school basketball standouts from the Southern Tier have earned All-Western New York honors, courtesy of The Buffalo News.

A day after announcing the first team, the newspaper published the second, third and fourth teams Saturday as well as honorable mention for both boys and girls.

Senior forward Quinn Lee Yaw of Jamestown and senior center Sam Eckstrom of Olean were named to the second team; senior guard Nick Schmidt of Olean was selected to the third team; and senior guard Dylan Meyer of Fredonia and junior center Bill Brooks of Silver Creek were named to the fourth team.

Honorable-mention choices for the boys include junior Cody Johnson of Cassadaga Valley, senior Luke Hennessy of Olean, junior Bryce Morrison of Randolph, junior Jared Fish and senior Damien Taylor of Salamanca, and seniors Andrew Graham and Ryan Robson of Sherman.

Sterling Taplin, a first-team selection with Jamestown’s Zack Panebianco and Olean’s Wil Bathurst, was named the boys Player of the Year.

Junior forward Jenna Einink of Class C state champion Chautauqua Lake was named to the second team, junior guard Anne Campion of Jamestown was a third-team choice, and juniors Ashton Albanesius and Courtney Hewes, also of Chautauqua Lake, junior Peyton Butts of Jamestown, junior Alex Bentham and senior Kayla Mansfield of Pine Valley, and senior Jordan Brooks of Silver Creek were honorable-mention selections.

Senior guard Jontay Walton of Cardinal O’Hara was named the Player of the Year. Joining her on the first team were junior forward-guard Chrisanna Green and junior guard-forward McKenna Maycock of Randolph.