Randolph Wrestling Team Wins Annarella Sportsmanship Award

By Jay Young

RANDOLPH – The Randolph Cardinals have been presented the Joe Annarella Team Sportsmanship Award following their 4-3 season in Division 2 wrestling.

The late Joe Annarella, an inductee into the Chautauqua Sports Hall of Fame, was a legendary Cassadaga Valley coach and official who was killed in a car accident while traveling to officiate a wrestling meet in 1976.

The award that bears his name is presented to the area wrestling team that stands out by measure of competitive spirit and sportsmanship.

“This is definitely an honor,” said Cardinals coach Todd Conley. “I guess at the end of the day it is about how you treat other people, and sometimes that is a tough lesson for kids. They don’t like to lose.”

Members of the Cardinals also include assistant coach Jessie Pierson and wrestlers Matt Evans, Dylan Brown, Dakota Parkhurst, Tristan Holdridge, Noah Spain, Ben Clinger, Henry Jakubczak, Randall Oyer, Cody Wright, Marshall Johnson, Ben Hvizdzak, Devin Ling, Chris Doubek, Wesley Sluga, Dennis Andrews, Jeff Andrews and Pat Kibbe.

“It’s important how you represent your school and how you represent your community,” Conley said. ”You have to win with honor and good sportsmanship and you have to lose with honor and good sportsmanship. Between parents and school, our kids have learned that lesson.”