Meyer, Lauer Take Top Honors For Div. 1 West Boys Basketball

Senior Dylan Meyer of Fredonia, the league’s top scorer with a 22.3 average, was named Most Valuable Player in Division 1 West boys basketball.

Greg Lauer of Fredonia was selected the Coach of the Year.

Meyer was joined on the First Team by senior teammate Nick Johnston while Maple Grove had two selections in senior Corey Wefing and junior Graham Soffel.

Michael Bass of Dunkirk and Billy Brooks of Silver Creek, a pair of seniors, rounded out the first team.

Senior Josh Nelson of Frewsburg-Falconer received the Byron Norton award for being the most dedicated player.

Frewsburg-Falconer won the team sportsmanship award.


Dylan Myer 12Fredonia

William Brooks 12Silver Creek

Corey Wefing12Maple Grove

Graham Soffel11Maple Grove

Nick Johnston12Fredonia

Michael Bess 12 Dunkirk


Josh Nelson 12Falconer-Frewsburg

John Piper11Fredonia

Mitch Carter12Falconer-Frewsburg

Isaiah Thomas 10Dunkirk

Kyle Moran 12 Southwestern


Dunkirk: Esmond Colvin.

Falconer-Frewsburg: Mike Wilcox, Kyle Petersen.

Fredonia: Patrick Moore, Cam Voss, Cody Cunningham.

Maple Grove: Riley Beaton.

Silver Creek: Tevon Thompson

Southwestern: Patrick Mogenhan, Mike Sanderson, Jack Carlson, Riley Rybicki.