Nominations Filed By Republicans, Democrats For March Village Elections

MAYVILLE-The Chautauqua County Board of Elections will be conducting eight village elections Tuesday, March 18. Polls will be open noon to 9 p.m., according to Election Commissioners Norman P. Green and Brian C. Abram.

The Board of Elections will be directing elections for Bemus Point, Brocton, Cherry Creek, Forestville, Mayville, Panama, Sherman and Westfield. A ninth village, Sinclairville, will host its own election.

Democrats and Republicans filed certificates of nominations for six of the nine villages holding 2014 village elections. Panama, Sinclairville and Sherman normally hold non-major party elections requiring the filing of independent party petitions.

Bemus Point: Republicans nominated Richard Biondolillo and David Lipsey for village trustee.

Brocton: Democrats nominated Sheila E. Lawrence, and Republicans named Bryan C. Woleben for a single village trustee vacancy election.

Cherry Creek: Republicans nominated Bruce Fish for mayor along with George Hodges and Betty Milspaw for village trustee. Democrats nominated trustee candidates Michael Seivert and Matthew West.

Forestville: Democrats and Republicans cross endorsed Kevin Johnson for mayor and Brian Schneider for village trustee. Gary Belote was named as the Republican candidate for the second village trustee opening.

Mayville: Martin Bova was cross endorsed by the Democrats and Republicans and Richard Syper was also cross endorsed for village trustee. Henry Jacobson was nominated by the Democrats and James Mayer was nominated by the Republicans for the second village trustee opening.

Westfield: Democrats nominated Michael A. Catalano and Republicans nominated David Brooker and Richard Raynor for two village trustee openings.

Celoron, Falconer, Fredonia, Lakewood and Silver Creek have moved their elections to coincide with the November general election. Cassadaga does not have any offices up for election in 2014. Propositions for the March election have been received from Forestville and Mayville asking voters permission to move village elections to November.

Voters who will be out of the county on Election Day can download absentee ballot applications at and mail them to the Board of Elections, 7 N. Erie St., Mayville, NY 14757.

Voters can also call the election office at 753-4580 for more information.