WRCL Defeats Portville To Capture Division 2 Mat Title

PORTVILLE – Two sub-minute falls led Westfield-Ripley-Chautauqua Lake (7-0, 13-4) to the Division 2 wrestling championship on Friday night.

Zack Reyes (160) pinned Alex Quattrone in 30 seconds and Tyler Furlow (195) flattened Mike McFarland in 47 seconds as WRCL defeated Portville, 57-23.

The winners were aided by five forfeit wins.

152: Jayce Freeborn (P) p. over Dylan Gross, 5:07.

160: Zack Reyes (WRCL) p. Alex Quattrone, 0:30.

170: Dominique Rammelt (WRCL) p. Alec Moore, 1:34.

182: William Hackenberg (P) won via forfeit.

195: Tyler Furlow (WRCL) p, Mike McFarland, 0:47.

285: D. J. Hamrick (WRCL) won via forfeit.

99: Garrett Fransen (WRCL) won via forfeit.

106: Bryce Rowe (WRCL) won via forfeit.

113: Nick Kozlowski (P) tf over Mike Boll, 17-0.

120: Nick Hudson (WRCL) p. Riley Rockwood, 1:20.

126: Ryan Thierman (P) p. Noah Dorman, 2:29.

132: Mark Ecklund (WRCL) won via forfeit.

138: Damian Raynor (WRCL) won via forfeit.

145: Kale Gilbert (WRCL) d. Robert Wheeler, 9-6.


CATTARAUGUS – Host Cattaraugus-Little Valley/Pine Valley (5-1) won eight matches en route to a 44-35 win over Maple Grove.

The highlight battle of the meet came at 170 pounds as Alex Kelly gave the C-LV/PVCS a victory by reversing Howie Nolan to his back with less than 30 seconds left to earn the two-point win, 8-6.

Billy Fleming also pinned Maple Grove’s Josh Telschow in 1:53. in the 195-pound match.

As for the Red Dragons, Brad Bihler pinned Adolf Zollinger in 1:46, Jed Micek downed Andy Wittenbrook via pin in 1:39 and A.J. Putt won by a technical fall, 15-0, over Sam Grey at 106 pounds.

106: A.J.Putt (MG) tech fall, Sam Grey, 15-0

113: Courtney Fleming (C/LV/PV) won by forfeit

120: Brad Bihler (MG) p. Adolf Zollinger, 1:46

132: Gabe Grey (C/LV/PV) tech fall, Zak Trim, 17-2

138: Trevor Micek (MG) tech fall, Tyler Penrod, 18-2

145: Jed Micek (MG) p. Andy Wittenbrook, 1:39

152: Brian Westerdahl (MG), md. Randy Grey, 17-6

160: T.J. Bihler (MG) d. Caleb Wares, 11-4

170: Alex Kelly (C/LV/PV), d. Howie Nolan, 8-6.

182: Chris Dolling (C/LV/PV) won by forfeit

195: Billy Fleming (C/LV/PV) p. Jon Telschow, 1:53

220: Mike Stalker (C/LV/PV) won by forfeit

285: Nate Stawder (C/LV/PV) won by forfeit

99: Michael Grey (C/LV/PV) won by forfeit.