Raiders Open Mat Season With Win

ORCHARD PARK- The Jamestown Red Raiders wrestling team (1-0) looked sharp in their first action of the season on Wednesday night, beating Orchard Park (0-1) 51-34 in ECIC Division 1 action.

Jamestown was helped to victory by a strong showing from middle weight classes, as well as several forfeits by the Quakers.

Leading the Red Raiders with pins were Emiliano Velazquez at 126 pounds, Kyle Luizzo at 132, Dylan Lundmark at 145, Adam Gullo at 160, and Brandon Whitacre at 170.

The Quakers had a dominant evening in higher weights with pins coming from Nick Marek at 220 and Emilio Cordero at 285, with the Red Raiders forfeiting the 195 division to Bret Morseon.

99: Jacob Brewer (OP) p. Seth Mactavish (J), 3:27

106: OP forfeit to Dakota Lewis (J)

113: OP forfeit to Nick D’angelo (J)

120: OP forfeit to Cameron Weaver (J)

126: Emiliano Velazquez (J) p. Aaron Cassiano (OP), 3:14

132: Kyle Luizzo (J) p. Will Gurah (OP), 1:40

138: Steve Perchaluk (OP) d over Lorenzo Rodriguez (J), 10-1

145: Dylan Lundmark (J) p. Taran Tragesser (OP), 1:59

152: Nolan Margaglio (J) d over Ben Gutsin (OP), 5-3

160: Adam Gullo (J) p. Brendan Silva (OP), 1:58

170: Brandon Whitacre (J) p. Morgan Cazanagh (OP), 1:10

182: Bill Myers (OP) p. Justice Miller (J), 2:14

195: J forfeit to Bret Morseon (OP)

220: Nick Marek (OP) p. Jeremy Bush (J), 0:49

285: Emilio Cordero (OP) p. Nick Barlow (J), 1:59



The Fredonia Hillbillies wrestling team (1-0) picked up a victory in their first match of the season, narrowly beating Southwestern (0-2) 38-30 in Division 1 action.

The teams were neck and neck heading into the final matches, but a forfeit by the Trojans at the 138-pound division was enough for a Fredonia win.

Winners for Southwestern included Shane Hetrick at 99 pounds, Ryan Hetrick at 120, Joey Lindberg at 160 and Tanner Hoose at 182.

Shane Hetrick, Ryan Hetrick and Lindberg recorded pins in the loss against Cole Tippens, Jovany Ruiz, and Jess Plaister respectively. Hoose won a minor decision 1-0.



FALCONER – The Falconer Golden Falcons (2-0) prevailed, 44-29, over Dunkirk.

In its second match of the year, Falconer was led by pins from Dexter Ormond at 106 pounds, Dylan Ingero at 120 pounds, Mike Raynor at 138 pounds, and Kyle Ross at 170 pounds.

The Golden Falcons also benefited from decisions by Austin Ormand at 126, Zak Meta 152, and Jacob Penhollow at 220.

Top performers for the Marauders were Brad Yockum at 99 pounds, Hector Colon at 113, Tito Colon at 132 and Nick Jones at 285.

99: Brad Yockum (D) p. Jordan Dustin (F), 5:20.

106: Dexter Ormond (F) p. Yeidy Santiago (D), 3:20.

113: Hector Colon (D) p. Cameron Page (F), 3:19.

120: Dylan Ingero (F) p. Felix Garcia (D), 0:15.

126: Austin Ormand (F) md over Billy Seiders (D), 13-0.

132: Tito Colon (D) d over Jacob Peru (F), 4-2.

138: Mike Raynor (F) p. Brandon Perry (D), 4:34.

145: Cody Dustin (F) tf over over Kenny Pisa (D), 25-8.

152: Zak Meta (F) d over Tristan Peck (D), 10-4.

160: Jake Youngberg (F) tf over Jon Echeyarri (D), 20-5.

170: Kyle Ross (F) p. Mike Adams (D), 3:01.

182: Adrian Elvorado (D) tf over Seth Abbey (F), 16-1.

195 Marquis Buchannan (D) d over Jimmy Schwab (F), 6-5.

220: Jacob Penhollow (F) d over Alex Jones (D), 4-0.

285: Nick Jones (D) p. Justin Spencer (F), 1:20.



CATTARAUGUS – Alex Kelly and Billy Fleming had sub-minute falls as Cattaraugus-Little Valley-Pine Valley beat Franklinville, 58-24.

Kelly pinned Franklinville’s Chris Szymanski in just 10 seconds at 182 pounds and Fleming subdued Damon Vroman in only 13 seconds at 195 pounds.

Overall, the winners had six pins in the match.

145: Gabe Grey (C) p. Justin Oliver, 3:15.

152: Randy Grey (C) d. Charlie Furman, 11-0.

160: Dylan Rhinehart (C) d. Shane Krzeminski, 13-11.

170: Caleb Wares (C) p. Bryan Jennings, 1:19.

182: Alex Kelly (C) p. Chris Szymanski, 0:10.

195: Billy Fleming (C) p. Damon Vroman, 0:13.

220: Mike Stalker (C) d. Zachary Rathbun, 5-4.

285: Alex Mahnk (F) p. Nate Strawder, 2:58.

99: Michael Grey (C) won via forfeit.

106: Sam Grey (C) won via forfeit.

113: Butch Ruibal (F) won via forfeit.

120: Caleb Palmatier (F) won via forfeit.

126: Drew Stevens (C) p. Brock Blecha, 2:41.

132: Matt Bacher (F) p. Adolf Zollinger , 0:32.

138: Dakota Crawford (C) p. Austin Cole, 1:32.