Trojans Take Three Top Honors For West Division Soccer

Champion Southwestern had the overall player of the year, the offensive player of the year and the coach of the year in the West Division boys soccer for 2013.

Senior defenseman Tyler Bell was named the player of the year, classmate midfielder Tristan Desnerck is the offensive player of the year and Mark Sleggs is the coach of the year.

Sophomore goalie Trevor Dykstra of Falconer and junior defenseman Nathan Saar of Maple Grove were co-defensive players of the year.

Bizmark Woma of Fredonia was named the Damon James Award (giving up is simply isn’t an option), which was awarded to the athlete that embodies the approach to academics, athletics and community.

James was the Westfield/Brocton football player who died after playing in a game at Portville in September.

The sportsmanship award was given to Chris Cochran of Westfield-Brocton and Matt Dimas was selected the official of the year.

Bell and Desnerck were named to the first team as well as teammate and forward Tanner Hoose.

Maple Grove also had three players chosen – senior midfielder Riley Beaton, senior defenseman David Meekins and defenseman Saar.

Freshman midfielder Antonio Robles and senior defenseman Zach Meadows represented Dunkirk while goalie Dykstra and senior defensemen Tom Fales were selected from Falconer.

Senior defenseman Zach Weatherlow of Chautauqua Lake, sophomore goalie Ty Bentham of Westfield-Brocton and senior midfielder Matthew Sheridan of Fredonia round out the first team.



Zach Weatherlow Chautauqua LakeDSr.

Antonio RoblesDunkirkMFr.

Zack Meadows DunkirkDSr.

Trevor Dykstra FalconerGSo.

Tom Fales FalconerDSr.

Matthew Sheridan FredoniaMSr.

Nathan Saar Maple GroveDJr.

David Meekins Maple GroveDSr.

Riley Beaton Maple GroveMSr.

Tanner Hoose SouthwesternFSr.

Tristan Desnerck SouthwesternMSr.

Tyler Bell SouthwesternDSr.

Ty Bentham Westfield-Brocton GSo.


James LatimerChautauqua LakeGSr.

Nelmy RoblesDunkirkMJr.

Andrew BeckerinkFalconerFJr.

Tobi CulpepperFalconerMSr.

Kyle LeysathFredoniaDSr.

Jeff PlaisterFredoniaMSr.

Dominick FabrizioMaple GroveMSo.

Nick SwansonMaple GroveFSr.

Kyle RichardsonMaple GroveGSr.

Andy BellSouthwesternMSr.

Riley RybickiSouthwesternMSr.

Alex BowerSouthwesternDSr.

Bryce BenthamWestfield-BroctonFJr.


Chautauqua Lake: Abdullah Khalid, Trevor Howser

Dunkirk: Angel Echevarria, Chris Michalski

Falconer: Justin Olson, Andrew Ward

Fredonia: James Eades

Maple Grove: Patrick Crossley, Brandon Greiner

Southwestern: Eric Priester, Nick Cooper

Westfield-Brocton: Dylan Robinson, Dan Skinner