Pietrocarlo, Wefing Show Way As CCAA Cross Country Opens

Sophomore Hope Pietrocarlo and senior Cory Wefing were the individual winners for Maple Grove in the opening of the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 cross country season on Tuesday.

Pietrocarlo edged teammate Caroline Benson in the 3.1-mile girls race, 21:19-21:23, as the Lady Red Dragons, the state’s top ranked Class D team, scored 19 points compared to Panama-Sherman-Clymer with 43 points, Falconer-Frewsburg with 70 points and Randolph incomplete.

In the boys meet, Wefing prevailed over Josh O’Dell of Panama-Sherman-Clymer, 17:22-18:30, but P-S-C captured the event with 28 points, Maple Grove had 30 points, Falconer-Frewsburg had 77 points and Randolph had 103 points.

Pietrocarlo, the state’s top runner in Class D, and Benson ran side-by-side before Pietrocarlo pulled ahead down the stretch to win the girls race by four seconds for Maple Grove.

Holly Eliason of Panama-Sherman-Clymer was third at 21:23 and Taylor Norris of MG fourth at 22:00.

Wefing, who is the second-ranked runner in Class D, easily captured the boys race for Maple Grove. Josh O’Dell was second and brother Dan was third with an 18:52 as Panama-Sherman-Clymer edged Maple Grove by two points.


1. Pietrocarlo (MG), 21:19; 2. .Benson (MG); 3. Eliason (P-S-C); 4. Norris (MG); 5. Grace Auer (MG); 6.. Kristen Holmberg (F); 7. Christian Kelemen (MG), 8. Katie Pacy (P-S-C). 9. Grace Dennis (P-S-C). 10. Abby Sirwatka (MG).


1. Wefing (MG), 17:22; 2. Josh O’Dell (P-S-C), 3. Dan O’Dell (P-S-C); 4. Frank Zuroski (MG). 5. Ryan Carpenter (P-S-C); 6. Ben Soffel (MG); 7. Jordan Boland (P-S-C); 8. Austin Ormond (F-F); . Jason Thompson (MG); 10. Colin Colburn (MG).


Southwestern played host to Dunkirk, Franklinville, Allegany-Limestone and Silver Creek in a season-opening dual CCAA cross country meet on Tuesday.

In the first meet, the Trojans batted Dunkirk and Franklinville and Southwestern was the winner with 24 points, followed by Dunkirk with 48 and Franklinville with 54 on the 3.1-mile course.

Ryan Hetrick led the Trojans and all finishers with a time of 17:46.

As for the girls, the Lady Trojans finished first with 15 points and Dunkirk and Franklinville were incomplete.

Cathy Cramer from Southwestern was the overall winner with a time of 24:42.

The second meet featured Allegany-Limestone and Silver Creek and the Gators edged the Black Knights, 24 points to 25.

Owen Barber from Allegany-Limestone was the top runner for the boys with a time of 18:03.

In girls action, the Lady Black Knights downed the Lady Gators, 24 to 31. Hannah Seiders led the way for Silver Creek with a time of 22:50.


Southwestern 24, Dk 48, Franklinville 54

Ryan Hetrick (SW) 17:46; Jordan Powers (SW), Xavier Soto (DK), Matt Batcher (FK), Collin Hanson (SW), Ethan Francis (DK), Mark Mitchner (SW), Forest Swaciak (FK), Jacob Hinsdale (SW), Ray Tarnowski (DK).


Southwestern 15, Dunkirk,

Franklinville incomplete.

Cathy Cramer (SW) 24:42;, Andrea O’Boyle (SW), Emily Nelson (SW), Emily Morton (SW), Jessica Schrader (SW), Shelby Skinner (FK), Katheryn Frasella (FK), Emma Sample (SW), Breann Stewart (FK), Paige Burrell (FK).


Silver Creek 24, Allegany-Limestone 25.

Owen Barber (A-L) 18:03, Jake Mullen (SC), Ryan Ruia (SC), Andrew Stady (A-L), Caleb Makuch (SC), James Corbin (SC), Shane Lindquist (A-L), Jacob McDonald (SC), James Feldman (SC), Jack MacLeary (SC).


Silver Creek 24, Allegany-Limestone 31.

Hannah Seiders (SC) 22:50, Emma Seiders (SC), Kylie Pleakis (A-L), Joie-Rose Stengel (A-L), Rachel Radack (SC), Sarah Adams (SC), Alyssa Edstrom (A-L), Cassie Cooper (A-L), Bethany Pendel (A-L), Claire Castiglia (SC).


GOWANDA – Matt Kruska and Colleen Steward led Gowanda to victories in Division 1.

Kruska produced a 3.1-mile boys clocking of 16:12 as Gowanda captured the boys race with 45 points, Fredonia had 52, Jamestown 57 and Olean 61.

Mike Meredith of Fredonia was second with a 16:17 and Zach Barnes of Jamestown came in fourth with a 16:39.

In the girls race, Steward ran a 18:50.5 clocking to beat the 18:51.6 of teammate Honta Samuelson as the Panthers topped the field with 29 points.

Fredonia was second with 32 points, Jamestown third with 71 points and Olean fourth with an even 100 points.

Michaela Tramuta of Fredonia was third with an 19:19 and Adriana Roehmholdt of Jamestown was fifth with a 19:57.


1. Matt Kruska (G), 16:12; 2. Mike Meredith (F); 3. Jake Cihak (O); 4. Zadh Barnes (J); 5. Christiian Edborg (J); 6. Patrick Walsh (J); 7. Steven Formanowicz (F); 8. Johnny Shaw (G); 9. Tristian Snyder (G); 10. Joey Kruska (G).


1. Colleen Steward (G), 18:50.5; 2. Honta Samuelson (G); 3. Michaela Tramuta (F); 4. Emily Wilson (F); 5. Emily Roehmholdt (J); 6. Gwen Stokes (F); 7. K.J. Jaroszewski (G); 8. Sarah Grubbs (G); 9. Clare O’Brien (F); 10. Jill Kowalski (F).