County Primaries Set For Tuesday

MAYVILLE – The Chautauqua County Board of Elections is reminding county residents to vote in the primaries Tuesday.

Primary voting will take place from noon to 9 p.m. Any county citizen at least 18 years of age at the date of election who has previously registered and has a primary is eligible to vote. Voters must have lived at their present address at least 30 days before an election, not be in jail or on parole for a felony conviction, and not claim the right to vote elsewhere.

The board of elections recommends avoiding the pool from noon-1 p.m. and in the evening during the dinner hour, as those will be the busiest times.

Jurisdictions hosting primary elections include:

Arkwright: Democrats, Republican and Independence

Carroll: Republican

Chautauqua: Republican, except election District 4, and Working Families which is only election District 4. There is also a new voting site at Mayville United Methodist Church, 81 South Erie St Mayville.

Cherry Creek: Democratic

Gerry: Republican

Kiantone: Republican

Mina: Republican

Poland: Republican

Pomfret: Democratic in District 6 only at BOCES Loguidice Center

Portland: Working Families and Independence

Sheridan: Democratic

Sherman: Republican

Stockton: Republican, Conservative, Working Families, and Independence

Villenova: Democratic

All other jurisdictions do not have primary elections.

In order to determine current major party affiliation and registration, visit and click on “voter lookup.” Residents can also contact the Board of Elections from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday at 363-4580, 611-7580 or 753-4580.

A voter who has moved within the county and has failed to notify the Board of Elections may go to their new polling place and fill out an affidavit ballot if their jurisdiction and political party are having a Primary.

Candidates for primaries include:

Legislative District 5 for Democratic County Legislator: Susan L. Baldwin, D-South Dayton, against Amy L. Farnham, D-Forestville.

Arkwright town council for the Republican Party: Christopher C. Cannon, R-Fredonia, against Clinton H. Nagel, R-Forestville, and Lawrence J. Ball, R-Cassadaga.

Legislative District 16 for Republican County Legislator: Tamera M. Downey, R-Jamestown, against Ronald A. Lemon, R-Frewsburg.

Legislative District 18 for Republican County Legislator: David L. Himelein, R-Clymer, against Frederick C. Croscut, R-Sherman.

Gerry town highway superintendent for the Republican Party: Mark A. Risley, R-Sinclairville, against Brian T. Anderson, R-Gerry.

Mina town clerk for the Republican Party: Sherrie R. Tanner, R-Sherman, against Kathy A. Wolfe, R-Sherman.

Stockton town justice for the Republican Party: Mark A. Cunningham, R-Cassadaga, against Jeffrey A. Shevlin, R-Stockton, and Michael H. Myers, R-Stockton.

Stockton town justice for the Conservative Party: Jeffrey A. Shevlin, C-Stockton, against Mark A. Cunningham, C-Stockton.

Legislative District 7 for Working Party Legislator: Thomas S. DeJoe, W-Brocton. There will be an opportunity to ballot for this primary.

Arkwright town council for the Independence Party: Clinton H. Nagel, I-Forestville, against Lawrence J. Ball, I-Cassadaga. There will be an opportunity to ballot for this primary.

Portland highway superintendent for the Independence Party: Ronald L. Delcamp, I-Portland, against Charles E. Kelley Jr., I-Portland.

Stockton town justice for the Independence Party: Jeffrey A. Shevlin, I-Stockton, against Mark A. Cunningham, I-Cassadaga.

Agents for voters may deliver absentee ballot applications to the board of elections and hand deliver the ballot to the voter. It is now too late to mail an absentee ballot application.

Ballots for viewing and election night unofficial results are available at: