Martins, Bowman, Mistretta Win Swanson Tourney Title

RUSSELL, Pa. – A total of 92 golfers participated in the 22nd annual Craig Swanson Memorial Golf Tournament at Cable Hollow Golf Course.

The team of Keith Martin, Kevin Martin, Steve Bowman and Joe Mistretta were the winners of this year’s team scramble posting a 10-under-par 63. Second were John Henry, Mark Musante, Janet Bowker and Dave Guiffre with a 64.

Shooting eight-under- par 65s, were the teams of Greg Auge, Cory Emory, Brad Smith and Jay Beers; Jim Holsinger, Jon Holsinger, Jeff Holsinger and Chris Yost; and Gary Adams Mike Lehnen, Mark Derby and Steve Clinger.

Long drive winners were Erica Gowan for the ladies and Troy Burns for the men. Closest-to-the-pin winners were Erin Johnson for the ladies and Chris Ryberg for the men.

Of special note for 2013 is that the tournament field once again included several former Craig “Swanny” Swanson Memorial Scholarship recipients including Cael Johnson, Thad Johnson and Asa Johnson.

This year’s tournament raised $4,435 to benefit the Craig “Swanny” Swanson Memorial Scholarship Fund. Total donations to the scholarship fund from this golf tournament have now reached $65,261 since the tournament’s inception in 1992.

To date, proceeds from the Craig “Swanny” Swanson Memorial Scholarship Fund have provided $59,500 in scholarships to 49 Frewsburg High School students preparing to enter college and to 27 Frewsburg High School alumni already in college, with an additional $42,000 invested in various Frewsburg-area sports facilities.