Continued Support

The sun was shining, the breeze was gentle and the course at Breezewood Links was in excellent shape. All of this made for a great day for golf for the 35 teams participating in the 18th annual Myers/Bennett Memorial Golf Tournament.

George Myers loved golf, the Kennedy Fire Department and kids. When he passed away while serving as chief of the Kennedy Fire Department, Bill Bennett organized the Myers Memorial in his honor to raise funds for the Kennedy Fire Department and their fire safety education for children in the area. Later, after Chief Bennett was killed while going to an emergency, the tournament was renamed in honor of both men.

Many remarked what a perfect day it was for the event. Not only did players get to enjoy a great round of golf, they also got to enjoy good food and perhaps win some nice prizes donated by a wide variety of sponsors. The main dinner after the round was a chicken barbecue prepared by the Ellington Fire Department.

Breezewood Links has hosted the tournament since they opened in 2001. Troy Beightol said it is their longest-running tournament. The Beightol family has been community-minded for many years, and said they are very happy to be able to support different causes.

Teams played close this year in the four-person scramble. In both the scratch and handicap divisions, the winners were decided by matching cards after two teams tied. In the scratch division, first overall with a round of 61 was the Frewsburg Fire Department team of John Lindsay Jr., John Lindsay III, Matt Delong and Brad Beckstrom. Second with a 61 was the team of Larry Mee, Alan Mee, Taylor Beaver and Blake Morrison. The handicap division winner with a round of 67 was the team of Chris Smith, Leighton Swanson, Debbie Swanson and Mallory Swanson. Second pace, also with a 67, went to the team of Jerry Moran, Reggie Houghwot, Lanky Houghwot and David Johnson.

Several individual categories for both men and women were awarded prizes. On Hole 2, the Men’s Longest Drive went to Jason Zielinski. Men’s Closest to the Hole on Hole 3 went to Jason Zielinski with 8’9″. Ladies Closest to the Pin on Hole 7 went to Allison Johnson at 43′. Hole 9 saw the Ladies Longest Drive go to Wendy Merchant. Pam Beightol captured Ladies Closest to the Pin on Hole 10 at 25′. Barb Beightol made the Ladies Longest Drive on Hole 15. Men’s Longest Drive on Hole 16 was achieved by Matt Delong. Jason Lindahl had a nice shot to get Men’s Closest to the Pin on Hole 17 with 126 “.

Skins were also awarded for five holes this year. On Hole 2, the skin was awarded to the Chris Smith team with an eagle. A birdie on Hole 7 won a skin for the Barry Finch team. Ken Blitz and his team won the skin on Hole 11 with an eagle. An eagle again took the skin on Hole 16 for Larry Mee’s team. The final skin, on Hole 17, went to Jody Eddy’s team with an eagle.

Teams come from as far as the Buffalo area to participate in this tournament, and to pay honor to the memory of George Myers and Bill Bennett. The members of the Kennedy Fire Department, and the families of George and Bill, thank everyone for their continued support.