Vikings Ingjald Lodge Honors Area Students

The Jamestown Vikings Ingjald Lodge No. 65 hosted its annual scholarship and awards ceremony Thursday.

The ceremony recognized the academic achievements of area students who have received college scholarships through the Independent Order of Vikings organization.

This year’s IOV scholarship recipients included Kaleigh Dwyer, Richard DuBois, McKenzie Cass, Morgan Deppas and Zane Thomas. Two local scholarships were also presented by the Jamestown IOV Lodge No. 65 to Alexandria Bollman and Kerry Devine.

The IOV scholarships were presented by past grand chiefs of the Jamestown Lodge No. 65 Bill Peterson and Tim Fagerstrom, as well as Juanita Porter, a member of the grand IOV executive council. Local scholarships were presented by Peterson, Fagerstrom and Steve Kosthorst, current chief of Lodge No. 65.

Additionally, the ceremony also recognized 25- and 50-year members of the IOV organization.

The 25-year members included: Gilbert House, Randall Jacobs, Earl Johnson, Bruce Limberg, Bruce McAllister, Richard Sherwood, Mark Smith, Marsha Anderson, Martha Carcione, Pauline Guziec, Valerie Heggarty, Ruth Ives, Phyllis Kron, Gale Lafferty, Cynthia Lafferty, Sue Schifano, Linda Smith, James Barber, Randall Bernhardt, John Berwick III, Larry Brickley, Daniel Burns, James Lingenfelter, Robert Pickett, Randy Rhinehart, Donald Carlson, Danton Hilldale, Henry Lindahl, Ronald Vahl, Gavin Paterniti, Edward Westerling, Thomas Carlson and Terrence Spencer.

The 50-year members included: Tim Fagerstrom, Edward Moore, Rodney Peterson, David Swanson, Alvie Bentley, J. Robert Johnson, Donald Brugge, Pual Lindquist, Vere Lindquist, John Sixbey and Wayne Lind.

The IOV scholarship program began in 1964, with five scholarships being awarded of $100 each. This was increased to $500 in 1975, $750 in 1989 and $1,000 in 2008. Local scholarships began at $500 each, were increased to $750, and then to $1,000 in 2008.

Since 1964, there have been 277 Viking scholarships awarded locally in the amount of $191,000.