Blair, Robertson, Michael, Kania, Groters, Hammond Win At Eriez

HAMMETT, Pa. -Autograph night was the hottest night of the season with temperatures in the 90s when fans and teams arrived at the track. The on-track action was just as hot with Rob Blair picking up his fourth Super Late Model feature win of the season, Wayne Robertson getting by defending champion Max Blair at lap 12 of the FASTRAK Late Model feature, and points-leader Rich Michael grabbing the lead from newcomer Mike Smith on lap 11 of the E-Mod feature.

Defending champion Steve Kania handily won the Limited Late Model feature, Brandon Groters captured his second win of the season and defending champion Kasey Hammond got her third win.

Two-time winners Greg Oakes and Mike Knight started the Jay’s Auto Wrecking Super Late Model feature from the front row, but it was three-time winner and current points leader Blair coming to the lead in the first lap. By halfway, the top five were Blair, Knight, Oakes, sixth-starting Boom Briggs and seventh-starting Andy Boozel.

Boozel got by Briggs with 10 laps to go and slipped by Oakes a lap later. Briggs used the inside line to get by Oakes at lap 18 and then Chub Frank slipped by both heading down the back stretch. At the end of the all-green main event it was Blair, Knight, Boozel, Frank and Briggs.

Fifteen of the 17 starters were running at the checkers.

Max Blair started the Bonnell Collision Center FASTRAK Late Model feature from the pole and led the opening laps. The race was slowed at lap six when Tim Cole spun in turn four. For the restart it was Blair, Kyle Zimmerman, outside front-row starter Chad Wright, Wayne Robertson and opening-night winner Billy Henry.

At lap eight, the fourth-starting Robertson came to second and then to the lead at lap 12. Blair didn’t give up, getting alongside with two to go, but Robertson held on to capture the checkered flag for his first Eriez win this season. Blair was second with Zimmerman third, Wright fourth and Mike Knight fifth.

Shane Crotty and Mike Smith started the Plyler Overhead Door E-Mod feature at the front with newcomer Smith leading the way after running the first lap side by side. Points leader Rich Michael got sideways in turn four at the end of lap two, but continued despite losing several spots. Smith built a several car length lead, but it disappeared when Gary Eicher spun in turn four at lap seven, collecting Steve Sornberger. A spin by 14-year-old Casey Bowers slowed the field again before another lap could be completed.

One lap after the restart, 2009 champion John Boyd was challenging for the lead, but Michael had worked his way back to the front and cruised by both leaders at lap 11. One lap later another caution flew for a four-car incident on turn four involving Steve Sornberger, Tony Maratto, Bud Watson and Steve Rex.

By 13 laps into the event, 17th-starting Joel Watson, the defending champion, had come to fourth and was third at lap 18. Michael cruised to his fourth win of the season with Smith second, Watson third, Boyd fourth and Crotty fifth.

Chris Ottaway, after a several week’s absence due to a hard wreck at Stateline Speedway, led the first two laps of the Conway & O’Malley Limited Late Model feature. Jake Finnerty took over at lap two with defending champion Steve Kania second by lap four. Kania was leading at the end of seven, but Finnerty stayed right with him. Last week’s winner, Dan Maxim, spun to the infield at lap nine.

After restarting Mike Lozowski and Wade Watson got together and slammed the outside retaining wall with Watson coming to rest with two wheels on the wall and two on the track. After restarting, Kania drove on to his second win of the season over Finnerty, four-time winner Ryan Scott, third-starting Dustin Eckman, and Tyler Green.

The Eric Walter Tree & Stump Removal Street Stocks had reigning champion Pat McGuire lead from the start with Mark Tompson coming to second over outside front-row starter Brandon Groters. After a lap-two restart, McGuire led to turn two and suddenly lost power, handing the lead over to Groters, who had got by Thompson on lap two.

Thompson, in second, got sideways in turn four before lap four was complete, involving three more cars, but as Thompson never stopped, he got his position back. At lap four the points leader, Eric Ester, spun coming out of turn four but kept his mount moving, not drawing a caution. Up front, Groters was maintaining his lead over Thompson, who was having his hands full with Joe Rohrer, who tried inside and outside to get by but could not complete the pass until three laps to go.

At the checkers it was Groters, Rohrer, Thompson, Greg Fenno and Ron Johnson.

Defending Kandy’s Gentleman’s Club Challengers champion Kasey Hammond started her feature from the pole and led every lap on the way to her third win of the season. Justin Brightman, from his outside front-row starting spot, ran second until the final lap when Joe Beach got by him. Wes Stull wound up fourth and Aaron Liberati was fifth.

Super Late Models

Heat 1: Rob Blair, Boom Briggs, Scott Gurdak, Andy Boozel, Chub Frank, Chris Hackett, Doug Eck, Bob Dorman, Chevy Scott

Heat 2: Mike Knight, Darrell Bossard, Greg Oakes, Scott Johnson, John Volpe, Matt Urban, Mike Oakes, Chris Peterson

Burger King of the Hill: Rob Blair, Andy Boozel

Feature: Rob Blair, Mike Knight, Andy Boozel, Chub Frank, Boom Briggs, Greg Oakes, Scott Gurdak, Chris Hackett, Darrell Bossard, Matt Urban, Scott Johnson, John Volpe, Doug Eck, Bob Dorman, Chris Peterson, Chevy Scott, Mike Oakes

FASTRAK Crate Late Models

Heat 1: Jamie Brown, Kyle Zimmerman, Chad Wright, Billy Henry, Scott Gurdak, Breyton Santee,Al Brewer, Khole Wanzer

Heat 2: Max Blair, Wayne Robertson, Mike Knight, Luke Carlton, Bobby Whitling, Bobby Rohrer, Damien Bidwell, Tim Cole

Feature: Wayne Robertson, Max Blair, Kyle Zimmerman, Chad Wright, Mike Knight, Billy Henry, Luke Carlton, Breyton Santee, Jamie Brown, Damien Bidwell, Bobby Whitling, Khole Wanzer, Al Brewer, Tim Cole, Bobby Rohrer, Scott Gurdak


Heat 1: Rich Michael, John Boyd, Shane Crotty, Bud Watson, Steve Rex, Tony Maratto, Casey Bowers, Jake Eller

Heat 2: Mike Smith, Chad Carlson, Steve Simon, Brian Fardink, Gary Eicher, Kyle Scott, Steve Sornberger, Kevin Decker

Feature: Rich Michael, Mike Smith, Joel Watson, John Boyd, Shane Crotty, Kyle Scott, Chad Carlson, Gary Eicher, Brian Fardink, Steve Simon, Tony Maratto, Steve Sornberger, Steve Rex, Kevin Decker, Bud Watson, Casey Bowers, Jake Eller

Limited Late Models

Heat 1: Chris Ottaway, Steve Kania, Jake Finnerty, Mike Lozowski, Wade Watson

Heat 2: Ryan Scott, Dustin Eckman, Tyler Green, Dan Maxim, Chris McGuire

Feature: Andy Kania, Jake Finnerty, Ryan Scott, Dustin Eckman, Tyler Green, Chris McGuire, Chris Ottaway, Dan Maxim, Mike Lozowski, Wade Watson

Street Stocks

Heat 1: Don McGuire, Greg Fenno, John Phelps, Paul Schreckengost, Joe Rohrer, Art Edwards, Chris Couchenour, Pat Fielding, Eric Reinwald

Heat 2: Pat McGuire, Brandon Groters, Mark Thompson, Ron Johnson, Ken Lamp, Eric Ester, Andy Faulhaber, Matt Tuzynski

Feature: Brandon Groters, Joe Rohrer, Mark Thompson, Greg Fenno, Ron Johnson, John Phelps, Eric Reinwald, Pat Fielding, Ken Lamp, Art Edwards, Eric Ester, Andy Faulhaber, Paul Schreckengost, Chris Couchenour, Don McGuire, Matt Tuzynski, Pat McGuire


Heat 1: Stephen Enlow, Mike Pohl, Tim Fisher, Justin Brightman, Wes Stull, Dustin Flower, Jessee Phelps, Kelsey Parker, Matt Marcy, Jeff Nunemaker,

Heat 2: Kasey Hammond, Travis Darling, Tom Cupp, Joe Beach, Aaron Liberati, Drew Panko, Kevin Covell, Matt Wolf, Luke Zimmer, Jared Stewart, Andy Proper

Feature: Kasey Hammond, Joe Beach. Justin Brightman, Wes Stull, Aaron Liberati, Travis Darling, Kevin Covell, Tom Cupp, Jeff Nunemaker, Tim Fisher, Matt Marcy, Mike Pohl, Drew Panko, Jared Stewart, Andy Proper, Luke Zimmer, Jessee Phelps, Andrew Phelps, Stephen Enlow, Kelsey Parker, Matt Wolf