Rotary Club Installs Hamilton As President

The Rotary Club of Jamestown installed Sharon Hamilton as its president for 2013-2014 at its recent recognition dinner.

Hamilton has been employed by Lutheran-Jamestown for 28 years and holds the position of vice president of Lutheran Senior Housing, managing more than 350 units of housing. She formerly directed the Foster Grandparent Program and the TLC Program.

Hamilton graduated from Jamestown Community College with her associate degree in social sciences; from Empire State College with a bachelor’s degree in human service administration; from St. Bonaventure University with a master’s degree in community counseling; from Alfred University with a master’s degree in professional studies; and she also holds a graduate certificate in gerontology from the University of North Texas.

A certified aging services professional, a member of the Center for Aging Service Technology and a member of the Housing Cabinet of Leading Age New York, Hamilton is also active in the community in addition to her involvement with Rotary. She is a member of The Resource Center Adult Developmental & Mental Health Committees and the Chautauqua Leadership Network. A former council president of First Lutheran Church, she is also a board member of the Chautauqua Blind Association and serves as treasurer of First Things First and is a member of Women in Networking.

The recipient of many awards from her community, Hamilton has been named United Way Volunteer of the Year for both Family Service of the Chautauqua Region and the Chautauqua Blind Association.

She has received the Rotary Paul Harris Fellow Award; Zonta’s Women in Leadership Award and was named a YWCA Woman of Achievement. She also was honored with the Harriet Danielson Service Award from First Lutheran Church.

Other officers installed at the Rotary Club dinner include: Todd Allen, president-elect; Michael Moots, vice president; Lisa Goodell, secretary; Christy Brecht, treasurer; and Vince Horrigan, sergeant-at-arms. The board installed include: Joelle Washer, Norm Merrill, Hiroko Walters, Misty Johnson, Mark Olson, Walter Pickut, Tory Irgang and Becky Robbins.