Washington Middle Announces Award Winners

Washington Middle School recently held its Eighth-Grade Moving Up Ceremony, handing out several awards in the process.

Receiving awards were:

Team Unity: English – Tayanna Watson; Math – Tayanna Watson; Distinguished Scientist Award – Joshua Ristau; Social Studies – Molly Pintagro

Character and Commitment Award – Genesis Bayron, Rita Carlson, Luz Guadarrama, Mavrick Johnson, Maya Larson, Molly Pintagro, Destane Rockwell, Misael Romero, Taylor Smith, Kaylee Stenstrom, Randi Thompson and Tayanna Watson

Team Inspiration: English – Janelly Candelario, Michael Dunn, Rebecca Lindholme and Jarrett Smith; Math – Nestor Luyando-Cruz, Jacob Millward, Jarrett Smith and Amber Truver; Science – Sierrah Rounds, Matthew Leon (biology) and Tori Dallas (biology); Social Studies – Chloe Knapp, Andrew Sisson and Jenna Silzle.

Miscellaneous School Honors: Art Award – Shine DeHarder and Dylan Pratt; Builder’s Club Member of the Year – Macayla Euscher; Outstanding Music Student – Amelia Dolce and Matthew Leon; Perfect Attendance – Gunnar Carlson, Anthony Clavell, Brett Hunzinger, Drew Simmons and Nathaniel Walsh; Physical Education – Lobos All-Stars: Tori Dallas, Chloe Knapp, Nestor Luyando, Olivia Reinhardt, Drew Simmons and Jacob Tota; Character Award – Tyler DeVlieger; and Principals Awards – Tyler Briggs and Courtney Russo

Community Awards: Attorney General’s Office – Triple C Award: Chloe Knapp and Matthew Leon; D.A.R. Award – Rita Carlson; NYS Comptroller’s Achievement Award – Amelia Dolce; and The Optimist Club of Jamestown – Jacob Millward