Oakes Named Div. 2 Player Of Year

Kenny Oakes was named the Chautauqua-Cattaraugus Athletic Association Division 2 baseball player of the year after helping lead the Cassadaga Valley Cougars to a share of the league title, the team’s first in more than 30 years.

Joining the senior pitcher on the first team were fellow Cougars Tim Bender, a senior shortstop, Tyson Gugino, a senior third baseman, and senior Matt Hallowell, a pitcher and infielder.

Cassadaga Valley finished the year with a 10-2 league mark, tied with Portville.

From Portville, juniors Justus Elliot and Brett Marcellin, along with seniors Zach Wood and Brandon Muniga, made the first team.

The Panthers’ coach, Mike Matz, was selected coach of the year.

Brett Johnson and Bryce Peterson, both seniors, and Tage Johnson, a junior, were the trio to make the squad from third-place Frewsburg.

And rounding out the first team are Cattaraugus-Little Valley’s Seth Agnew (senior) and Justin Forster (junior), Randolph’s Nate Beaver (senior) and Salamanca’s Matt Crandall (junior).

Tyler Martin, from Salamanca, was the sportsmanship award winner.


Justus Elliott Jr. P-C Portville

Brett Marcellin Jr. P-1B Portville

Zach Wood Sr. P-C Portville

Brandon Muniga Sr. OF Portville

Tim Bender Sr. INF Cassadaga Valley

Kenny Oakes Sr. P-INF Cassadaga Valley

Tyson Gugino Jr. INF Cassadaga Valley

Matt Hollowell Sr. P-INF Cassadaga Valley

Tage Johnson Jr. P-C-INF Frewsburg

Bryce Peterson Sr. P-OF Frewsburg

Brett Johnson Sr. OF Frewsburg

Seth Agnew Sr. P-INF Catt.-Little Valley

Justin Forster Jr. INF Catt.-Little Valley

Nate Beaver Sr. OF Randolph

Matt Crandall Jr. INF Salamanca


Troy Giberson Sr. INF Portville

Austin Suain Sr. OF Portville

Matt Heath Jr. Cassadaga Valley

Andy Ellis Jr. C Cassadaga Valley

Trevor Spicer Jr. P-C Frewsburg

Bryce Raymond Jr. P-OF Frewsburg

Luke Makakanja Sr. P-1B Catt.-Little Valley

Matt Booth Sr. OF Catt.-Little Valley

Mitchell Maycock Jr. P-INF Randolph

Ryan Styles Jr. 1B Randolph

Mike Morris Jr. OF Salamanca

Mitch Gilbert So. C-INF Salamanca

Zach Klisiewicz Sr. INF Silver Creek

Anthony Morales Sr. P-OF Silver Creek

Stephen Marcey Sr. INF Silver Creek


Cassadaga Valley: Dakota Morano

Frewsburg: Dane Johnson, Nick Long

Cattaraugus-Little Valley: Ryan Hanft, Matt Frary

Portville: Nick Burroughs

Randolph: Kyle Brown, Alex Miinte, Andrew Hvidzdzak, Nate Ploetz

Salamanca: Tyler Martin. Tadd Beattie

Silver Creek: Adam Klajbor, Josh Pfleuger, Kraig Gilbert