Students Inducted Into National Technical Honor Society

ASHVILLE – A total of 20 high school juniors and three high school seniors from school districts throughout Chautauqua County were recently inducted into the National Technology Honor Society, one of the highest distinctions possible for students enrolled in Career & Technical Education Programs at the Erie 2-Chautauqua-Cattaraugus BOCES Hewes Educational Center in Ashville.

An additional 19 high school seniors have successfully completed the requirements of their respective CTE programs after being inducted into the NTHS during the 2011-12 school year.

All 42 students were able to participate in the NTHS through their enrollment in two-year CTE programs offered at the Hewes Center.

“Induction into the National Technical Honor Society is one of the highest achievements possible for high school students enrolled in career and technical education programs. These students’ families and their home school districts should take pride in their achievement,” said Suzanne Dunlap, cosmetology instructor at the Hewes Center and NTHS adviser.

The National Technical Honor Society recognizes outstanding student achievement among career and technical education students throughout the U.S. To qualify, candidates had to maintain a grade point average of at least 90 and demonstrate scholastic achievement in their career and technical education programs as well as leadership skills and a commitment to community service. They also had to have five or fewer absences during the school year.

During the induction ceremony, inductees were given honorary pins recognizing their achievement. Also during the ceremonies, graduating seniors were given tassels and stoles they would be able to wear for graduation. Inductees and members participated in a candlelight ceremony that represented the goals of the NTHS and its seven pillars of membership – knowledge, leadership, service, honesty, scholarship, skill, citizenship and responsibility, each of which was represented by a candle.

Junior inductees were Ben Dickerson, Leanne Diers, Caleb Eckman, Richard Eddy, Stephen Enlow, Mark Eppinger, Hannah Gazdak, Kimberly Haskins, Dylan Higbee, Garrett Hodgkin, David Holmstrom, Austin Karash, Amber Middleton, Jessica Parment, Ashley Rager, Adrianne Rhone, Tim Stappenbeck, Kalynn Swanson, Scott Weber and Brett Worland.

Senior inductees were Austin Cramer, Seth Damcott and Maura DeShantz.

Seniors who were inducted last year are Alexandria Bollman, Patrick Caldwell, Chad Card, Caleb Clark, Annyssa Conti, Tyler Dulmus, Mackenzie Ellis, Robert Evans, Jason Green, Breanna Green, Travis Hansen, Jennifer Lindholme, Brandon Peterson, Brittany Reitz, Richard Resta, Rachel Ritter, Kristen Santana, BobbiJo Whippo and Lindsey Whitmore.

The Hewes Center offers 13 two-year CTE programs that allow high school juniors and seniors to gain experience and technical knowledge in highly specialized fields of their choosing while earning their Regents Diploma. Students who have successfully completed the requirements of their programs will receive a Technical Endorsement on their diplomas, and they will be prepared to enter the workforce immediately upon graduation or pursue more advanced levels of study at post-secondary educational institutions.

Programs offered at the Hewes Center include Automotive Body Repair, Automotive Technology, Conservation/Natural Resource Management, Construction Technology, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice, Culinary Arts, Diesel Mechanics/Heavy Equipment Repair, Graphics Technology, Health Careers, Information Technology/Computer Systems, Motorsports Fabrication/Precision Machining, and Small Animal Science.