Baker’s Dozen Will Seek P-J Champions Title

A field of 13 golfers will be competing in the 24th annual P-J Champions golf tournament at Cardinal Hills Golf Course on May 19.

At 10 a.m., 12 men’s scratch club champions from regulation 18- and nine-hole courses in The Post-Journal circulation area will begin teeing off. If there is a tie after 18 holes, a playoff will begin at No. 1.

Also in the field is the defending champion, Jordan Marsh, who was the 2011 club champ at Cassadaga Country Club. Marsh survived a logjam playoff that included four other competitors who also shot 5-over 77s at Blueberry Hill Golf Club last year. The others in the five-man playoff were Dan Smith of Elkdale Country Club, Greg Gollnitz of Chautauqua Point Golf Course, Tim Hall of Bemus Point Golf Club and John Ditcher of Cardinal Hills.

The playoff lasted only one hole as Marsh sunk an 8-foot putt for a birdie 3 and the victory.

Marsh, who is playing in the P-J Champions for the third time, will be attempting to become the fifth repeat winner. Dick Cole won back-to-back titles two times while Mike Bancroft, Shelly Grant and the late Roger Loop did it one time each.

Smith is back in the event for the eighth time.

The veteran in the field is Troy Beightol of Breezewood Links, who will be making his 10th appearance.

Dave Newton of Shorewood Country Club is playing for the seventh time, Sam Marek of Blueberry Hill Golf Club is making his sixth appearance and playing for the fourth time are P.J. Gronquist of South Hills Country Club and Rob Ritchie of Jackson Valley Golf Club. Playing for the second time is Josh Harrington of Chautauqua Golf Club.

First-timers in The P-J Champions are Nolan Swanson of Pinehurst Golf Club, Matt DeLong of Cable Hollow Golf Course, Brenton Wilcox of Cassadaga Country Club, Tyler Martin of Conewango Valley Country Club and Taylor Beaver of host Cardinal Hills.

Beaver will be trying to become the second P-J Champions competitor to win on his home course.

Unable to compete are Matt Hartweg of Moon Brook Country Club, Jake Yartz of Maplehurst Country Club, Ken Woodfield of Bemus Point Golf Club and Jason Dudley of Chautauqua Point Golf Course.

Among the 13 golfers in the field there are, in addition to Marsh, two other former P-J Champions winners – Newton and Marek.

This is the second time Cardinal Hills has played host to The P-J Champions. The first time was 2000 when Greg Winter, the club champ from South Hills, shot a 3-over-par 75 to edge defending champion Joe Traniello of Moon Brook and John Woodfield of Jackson Valley, who had 76s.

Cardinal Hills will be providing the green fees and a light meal after nine holes for the golfers on May 19. They will receive a sleeve of golf balls from The Post-Journal, which will award silver bowls to the winner and runner-up.




10:00 a.m.

Tyler Martin

Nolan Swanson

Brenton Wilcox

10:10 a.m.

Taylor Beaver

Josh Harrington

Rob Ritchie

10:20 a.m.

Troy Beightol

Matt DeLong

P.J. Gronquist

10:30 a.m.

Sam Marek

Jordan Marsh

Dave Newton

Dan Smith


1990 – Roger Loop

1991 – Roger Loop

1992 – Shelly Grant

1993 – Shelly Grant

1994 – Randy Holmes

1995 – John Woodfield

1996 – Dick Cole

1997 – Dick Cole

1998 – Joe Johnson*

1999 – Joe Traniello

2000 – Greg Winter

2001 – Shelly Grant

2002 – Dick Cole

2003 – Dick Cole

2004 – Jay Lindell

2005 – Corky Hull

2006 – P.J. Gronquist

2007 – Tim Kasperek

2008 – Dave Newton

2009 – Mike Bancroft*

2010 – Mike Bancroft

2011 – Sam Marek

2012 – Jordan Marsh*

* won playoff