Community Foundation Scholarship Applications Due April 1

OLEAN – Applications for scholarships administered by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation are due April 1.

There are 14 different scholarship funds, according to Karen Niemic Buchheit, CRCF executive director. Some scholarships target students graduating from specific high schools, some for specific areas of study and others for financial need. Each scholarship is tailored to the donor’s wishes.

“The Community Foundation is able to offer area students scholarships thanks to the tremendous generosity of the donors who have established these scholarship funds and the people who support them through donations,” said Buchheit.

Scholarship award amounts range from $500 to $10,000 each.

Applications are available online at the Community Foundation’s website at, at the Community Foundation’s office and through area high school guidance offices.

The list of available scholarships for 2013 includes:

Burt Scholarship

Hinsdale Alumni Association Memorial Scholarship

Mohammad & Sakeena Iqbal Health Care Award

Kothari Family Fund Healthcare Scholarship

Pat McGee Nursing Scholarship

John J. Murphy Family Scholarship

Olean Business Institute/Daniel McCarthy Scholarship

Otto/Otto-Eldred Alumni Scholarship

Michele Krahe Peace Olean High School Scholarship

Mark J. Prockton Memorial Scholarship

Norman “Pete” Schussele Scholarship

Ben & Rose Schwabenbauer Educational Scholarship

Jonathan Teuscher Scholarship

JoAnn Wehmeyer English Scholarship

Criteria for each award are available at the Community Foundation’s website.

Established in 1995, The Community Foundation is growing good by connecting donors to the causes they care about most in our region. Grants from the foundation support many areas including education, scholarships, health care, the arts, community development, human service and youth development

For more information visit, email or call 372-4433. Find the Community Foundation on Facebook at