Blask Named Division 2 Boys Player Of Year

Senior Zach Blask of Portville was selected as the Player of the Year in Division 2 boys basketball this season.

Blask averaged a league-leading 20 points, 7.5 assists and 5.4 rebounds for Portville (17-3), whose only three losses were to Section 6 Class C champion Silver Creek.

Silver Creek had three players on the first team and they were senior Zeddie Williams, junior Kaine Kettle and sophomore Billy Brooks. Brooks was the league leader in rebounding with an average of 12 rebounds per outing.

Rounding out the first team was sophomore Bryce Morrison of Randolph and senior Josh Watson of Portville .

Frewsburg earned the team sportsmanship award.

The second team was made up of senior Tanner John and sophomore Jared Fish of Salamanca and seniors Tim Bender of Cassadaga Valley, Nathan Beaver of Randolph, Alex Elderkin of Frewsburg and Steve Marcey of Silver Creek.


Zach Blask Portville Sr.Zeddie Williams Silver Creek Sr.

Kaine Kettle Silver CreekJr.

Bryce Morrison Randolph Soph.

Josh Watson Portville Sr.

Billy Brooks Silver Creek Soph.


Steve MarceySilver Creek Sr.

Jared Fish Salamanca Soph.

Alex Elderkin Frewsburg Sr.Tanner John Salamanca Sr.

Nathan Beaver Randolph Sr.

Tim Bender Cassadaga ValleySr.


Cassadaga Valley: Randy Dalaba, Mike Lancaster

Cattaraugus-Little Valley: Colt Agnew

Frewsburg: Josh Nelson

Portville: Curtis Caya

Randolph: Cody Oldro, Mitch Maycock

Salamanca: Bryce Stahlman

Silver Creek: Brennan White