Fenner Elementary Holds Annual Scholastic Fair

On March 1, H.C. Fenner Elementary in Falconer held its annual Scholastic Fair.

There were more than 120 projects with 140 students participating in this year’s fair. Participants included students from third, fourth, and fifth grades.

Students were encouraged to create a project that demonstrated their interest in a particular topic. This year’s projects included everything from the World War II, and famous historical figures such as Abigail Adams and George Washington, to traveling, tie-dying and animals. Judges from the local community volunteered their time to come in, interview and score each student’s project. Later that evening, the school gymnasium was open for parents, students, and friends to come look at all the wonderful projects. Also that evening, an awards ceremony was held to honor the top-five projects at each grade level. In addition, seven students received the Principal’s Award selected by Larry Spangenburg. These students received a medal in honor of their accomplishment. Each student who completed a project received a certificate of participation and a collectible dollar coin.

To view all the projects, please visit www.falconerschools.org/elementary. The Scholastic Fair Committee would like to thank the Falconer Elementary PTO for generously providing funding to purchase medals, certificates and dollar coins for the students who participated, and refreshments for the judges. The Scholastic Fair was organized by teachers: Cindy Nutt, Nicole Velazquez, Marissa Shields, Bryan Voorhis, and Spangenburg.

Those receiving top honors included:


Alexis Adam – Me and the Honeybees ; Amelia Sprague – Elephants; Hannah Cross – Cake Decorating; Carson Hiller – Making Wax Hands; Ashleah Youngberg – Tie Die. Principal’s Awards: Kaydance Paladino – Wood signs; Zachary Stofko – Are We Alone?.


Serena Camarata – Popcorn; Evan Reynolds & Greg Holmberg – Titanic; Nicholas Erickson – Star Wars Lego; Joseph Mihaly – Batteries; Eliza Schrantz – My Pony Taffy. Principal’s Awards: Anyssa Brainard and Nicole Youngberg – Logging Forestry; Erika Binkley – Gardens are Great.


Grace Penhollow – Zebras; Nolan Bridges & Sarah Disbero – World War II; Alyssa Wright – Pretty-n-Pink; John Kozlowski – Electric Eel; Mark Wilcox – The Giant Squid; Olivia Sweeney – Sharks. Principal’s Awards: Keely Bell – Fenner Elementary School; Ashley Newman – Starfish; Alicea Nickerson – Ski the Legend.