Reed Named MVP, Neckers COY For Div. 4 Girls Basketball

Senior Elle Reed of Sherman was the selection as the most valuable player for Division 4 girls basketball for 2012-2013.

Reed, who averages 31.9 per game and leads the Section 6 in scoring, was named at guard. She grabbed 11.5 rebounds and 6.5 steals per outing.

Scott Neckers of champion Clymer (17-3) was chosen the coach of the year and West Valley earned the Sportsmanship Award.

Freshman Bridget Yaw of Sherman was the only non-senior among the six players chosen for the First Team. Yaw played guard with Reed.

Center Dani Reinwald and forward Jo Jo Rhodes of Clymer, center Jana Hamilton of Ellicottville and guard Megan Bailey of West Valley round out the First Team.

The Second Team consists of guards senior Danielle Reed of Sherman, junior Jessica Putcher of Brocton, junior Kayla Gilkinson of Clymer and freshman Marissa Hamilton of Ellicottville and senior teammate forward Madison Szpaicher.

Individual sportsmanship awards went to Jessica Merle of Brocton, Rhodes of Clymer, Julia Rater of Sherman, Szpaicher of Ellicottville, Angela Filkov of North Collins, Ryleigh Hawkins of Ripley and Jessica Baker of West Valley.


Elle Reed Sherman Sr.

Danielle Reinwald Clymer Sr.

Janae Hamilton Ellicottville Sr.

Jo Jo Rhodes Clymer Sr.

Bridget Yaw Sherman Fr.

Megan Bailey West Valley Sr.


Madison Szpaicher Ellicottville Sr.

Jessica Putcher Brocton Jr.

Danielle Reed Sherman Sr.

Kayla Gilkinson Clymer Jr.

Marrissa Hamilton Ellicottville 8th


Brocton: Brooke Kuschel, Jessica Merle

Clymer: Christy Reinwald, Marissa Trisket

Ellicottville: Ashley Wilson, Grace Hall

North Collins: Emily Swiatkowski, Christine Blidy

Ripley: Lacie Landon, Ryleigh Hawkins, Samantha Judd

Sherman: Samantha Delcamp, Julia Rater

West Valley: Rachel Zimmer, Victoria Calkins, Trisha Thomas