Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation Offers Scholarships

OLEAN – Applications for scholarships administered by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation are now available. This year’s deadline is April 1.

According to Karen Niemic Buchheit, CRCF executive director, there is one new scholarship available for 2013 – the Michele Krahe Peace Olean High School Scholarship.

“This scholarship, established by her parents, David and Irene Krahe, will be awarded annually beginning this June to a graduate of Olean High School who plans to attend college,” Buchheit noted. “The preferred candidate will plan to major in Michele’s chosen profession, accounting, or business.”

Last year the board of directors of the Community Foundation awarded 25 students $90,600 in scholarships from 14 different funds according to Buchheit.

“The Community Foundation is able to offer area students scholarships thanks to the tremendous generosity of the donors who have established these scholarship funds and the people who support them through donations,” said Buchheit.

She noted that some scholarships target students graduating from specific high schools, some for specific areas of study and others for financial need. Each scholarship is tailored to the donor’s wishes.

Applications are available online at the Community Foundation’s website at, at the Community Foundation’s office and through area high school guidance offices.

The list of available scholarship for 2013 also includes:

Pat McGee Nursing Scholarship – Two awards are given each year to students, traditional or nontraditional, in the 57th state Senate district who are pursuing nursing degrees. Students must maintain at least a C average. Students previously receiving the award also can reapply. Established through the Pat McGee Endowment, this fund is named in memory of the former late New York state Senator representing the 57th district.

John J. Murphy Family Scholarship – A $10,000 scholarship awarded over four years at $2,500 per year. First preference is given to graduating students from Olean-area high schools which include Olean, Allegany-Limestone, Hinsdale and Portville schools and Archbishop Walsh Academy. Second preference is given to high schools in the following communities – Cattaraugus County: Salamanca, Franklinville, Ellicottville, Cattaraugus-Little Valley, West Valley, Randolph and Gowanda. Preference also will be given to a student whose family members are employed by or have retired from Dresser-Rand in Olean. Preference will be given for students pursuing a bachelor’s degree in nursing, engineering or business. Selection criteria shall include scholastic achievement, school and community participation, demonstrated leadership potential and financial need. Named in honor of John J. “Jack” Murphy, Olean native and former CEO and chairman of Dresser Industries, this scholarship was established initially through a grant from the Communities Foundation of Texas.