Area Students Earn Scholarships

ALFRED – Two Cattaraugus County residents have each been awarded scholarships to attend Alfred State.

Abby Dallas of West Valley was awarded a $1,000 a year Educational Foundation Academic Distinction Scholarship. Dallas is slated to graduate in 2013 from West Valley Central High School and intends to enroll in the marketing program.

Drew Hill of Cattaraugus was awarded a $500 per year Alumni Scholarship. Hill is slated to graduate in 2013 from Cattaraugus-Little Valley Central School and intends to enroll in the agricultural business program.

The Educational Foundation Academic Distinction award, based on scholastic achievement, is from the Educational Foundation of Alfred Inc., according to Deborah Goodrich, associate vice president for enrollment management at Alfred State.

The Alumni Scholarship is awarded to children and grandchildren of Alfred State alumni with an 83 or higher high school average. Awards are disbursed over four semesters provided scholarship requirements are fulfilled. The Alumni Scholarship is made possible through the Alfred State Alumni Association.