Gullo’s Pin Is Difference In JHS Mat Win Over Sweet Home

HAMBURG – Thanks to a huge win by Adam Gullo, Jamestown improved to 4-0 with a hard-fought 36-33 victory over Sweet Home in Erie County Interscholastic Conference Division 1 wrestling on Thursday.

Gullo pulled out the win in overtime, coming through with a 7-5 victory over Steve Iverson in the 145-pound match.

Also for the Red Raiders, Cody Risley pinned Andrew Szime in 1:06 to take the 113-pound match, Kyle Liuzzo scored a pin over Eddie Aghabekyian in just 14 seconds at 120 pounds and Mark Conklin posted a pin victory over Joe Vatucca in 2:51 at 132 pounds.

195: Zach Eklum (J) d. Manny Espinoza, 6-5

220: John Novarro (SH) p. Ben Soto, 3:18

285: Joe Velluz (SH) d. Sky Somerton, 6-5

99: Trent Nadau (SH) d. Dakota Lewis, 6-4

106: Nick D’Angelo (J) d. Dominick Krause, 2-0

113: Cody Risley (J) p. Andrew Szime, 1:06

120: Kyle Liuzzo (J) p. Eddie Aghabekyian, :14

126: Cameron Weaver (J) tech fall, Don Craft, 16-0

132: Mark Conklin (J) p. Joe Vatucca, 2:51

138: Mike Pantara (SH) d. Nolan Margaglio, 3-0

145: Adam Gullo (J) d. Steven Iverson, 7-5 OT

152: Mike Southwick (J) d. Mike Kraft, 7-2

160: Noah Jones (SH) won by forfeit

170: Cameron Clayton (SH) p. Brandon Whittaker, 1:11

182: J.J. Marin (SH) p. Justin Miller, 4:25



Southwestern dominated Cattaraugus-Little Valley/Pine Valley, posting a 52-21 victory while bringing its season record at 2-2 and avenging a previous setback over an opponent that was ranked seventh in Western New York.

Four matches were decided by pin for the Trojans as Howie Boutelle pinned Josh Hammond in 46 seconds (285 pounds), Giuseppe Hoose set down Courtney Fleming in 4:46 (99 pounds), Ronnie Fish dropped Adolf Zollinger in 1:12 (120 pounds) and Tanner Hoose pinned Chris Dolling in 45 seconds (182 pounds).

285: Howie Boutelle (S) p. Josh Hammond, :46

99: Giuseppe Hoose (S) p. Courtney Fleming, 4:46

106: Ryan Hetrick (S) won by forfeit

113: Mitchell Johnson (S) won by forfeit

120: Ronnie Fish (S) p. Adolf Zollinger, 1:12

126: Dylan Lundmark (S) won by forfeit

132: Gabe Grey (C) d. Michael Raynor (S), 10-7

138: Joey Lindberg (S) d. Dylan Rhinehart, 8-0

145: Brian Westerdahl (S) d. Nick Sandy, 5-3

152: Billy Fleming (C) p. Nick Mest, 2:26

160: Mason Hoose (S) d. Alex Stalker, 7-3

171: Alex Kelly (C) p. Ben Swanson, 2:36

182: Tanner Hoose (S) p. Chris Dolling, :45

195: Matt Booth (C) won by forfeit