Newman Clinches Falconer Wrestling Victory

RIPLEY – The battle of the undefeated wrestling teams between Falconer and Westfield-Ripley-Chautauqua Lake went down to the final bout on Wednesday night.

Javen Newman got the win for Falconer with a 1:58 fall over D.J. Hamrick at 285 pounds to enable Falconer (15-1) to move to 5-0 in Division 1 with a 36-32 victory and drop the hosts to 8-1.

The score entering the final match was WRCL ahead, 32-30. Newman took a 2-0 lead before flattening Hamrick to provide the Golden Falcons with the victory.

An upset took place at 132 pounds where Zak Mata of Falconer decisioned Nolan Hunt, who recently won a title at Joe Shifflett Invitational at Sweet Home.

Another fine match was at 113 pounds where Nick Hudson of WRCL turned back Jake Peru, 4-2.

Brandon Muntz of Falconer remained undefeated by winning at 126 pounds over Damian Raynor, 8-2.

99: Kyle Blake (F) tf over Bryce Rowe, 20-4.

106: Ricky Griffiths (F) p. Noah Dorman, 1:17.

113: Nick Hudson (WRCL) d. Jake Peru, 4-2.

120: Roger Williams (WRCL) d. Tim Franzen, 5-3.

126: Brandon Muntz (F) d. Damian Raynor, 8-2.

132: Zak Mata (F) d. Nolan Hunt, 11-8.

138: Kyle Ross (F) p. Kale Gilbert, 3:39.

145: Jake Youngberg (F) d. Jeremy Gilbert, 9-1

152: Nick Zentz (R) p. Brandon Teboe, 5:43.

160: Dominique Rammelt (R) md over Seth Abbey, 16-8.

170: Caleb Lawson (WRCL) won via forfeit.

182: Tyler Furlow (WRCL) p Jimmy Schwab, 3:02.

195: Dan Williamson (F) d. Cody Bird, 6-0.

220: Trevor Enterline (WRCL) md over Jake Penhollow, 12-2.

285: Javen Newman (F) p. D. J. Hamrick, 1:58.


AKRON – Trevor Spicer of Frewsburg raised his undefeated record to 12-0 by winning the 195-pound wrestling title at the 45th annual Akron Holiday Tournament recently.

Austin Lynn was second at 182 pounds and Zach Haller third at 220 pounds.